New law aimed at safer driving in Mass effective today
As you may be aware, The Safe Driving Law becomes effective in Massachusetts today. The law has a number of components with the major distinctions being: All junior drivers, under 18, may not use cell phones while they drive at all. Text messaging for all drivers in Massachusetts is also no longer legal and has a series of fines and penalties attached. Cell usage for drivers 18 or older is permitted but only if properly used (at least one hand on the wheel at all times and no use of device can impair with the driving). Drivers over 75 years of age or older must renew their license in person and undergo a vision test ever 5 years. Additional details on the laws and the fines is available at www.massdot.state.ma.us/RMV/SafeDrivingLawSummary.aspx.